1 Comment

SF Justise Winslow looks to visit Duke, UCLA

Photo courtesy of Daryl Paunil/NRS.

With programs like Duke, Kansas, Kentucky and North Carolina chasing after him, class of 2014 star small forward Justise Winslow has a wide variety of programs to choose from.

One way he’s trying to narrow down those choices is by taking a closer look at each program.

“I took a visit to Arizona this past week,” Winslow told NRS of his most recent visit. “It was pretty cool. I got to see the facilities and play with the team. Watching the Heat-Celtics game 5 in the Eastern Conference Finals with the guys was probably my favorite part.”

The 6’6, 195-pound Texan has also visited North Carolina, Kansas, Texas and Texas A&M as well as Arizona twice. However, this most recent trip he took is the one standing out to him. “I probably enjoyed this past Arizona visit more than any other one I’ve taken,” Winslow said, “since I got to spend more time with the guys. I was with them for 24 hours straight.”

Winslow is looking to take a couple more visits too before the summer ends on opposite ends of the country. “I want to go to UCLA and Duke,” he said. “They’ve both been showing interest and Duke has been trying to get me down their but my coach has been kind of busy and they’ve been e-mailing him. The UCLA coaches have been to my school and are trying to get me down there.”

While the Bruins have offered, Duke has yet to do so. UCLA joins the likes of Arizona, Baylor, Texas A&M, Texas, Oklahoma State, and Georgetown as the schools who have offered him. Winslow identifies Arizona as the program recruiting him the hardest and says one of his friends has told him a few times to commit to one school in particular.

“[Class of 2012 shooting guard] Rasheed Sulaimon (#10Duke) tells me I need to go to Duke, they’ve shown me interest,” Winslow added. “Rasheed isn’t really recruiting me that much but Duke did start showing interest in late April. They’ve been calling my coach.”

He also knows what he’s looking for in a school. “Just a coach that has a system I can fit into pretty well and where I can make an impact,” Winslow said when describing his ideal program. “Also nice facilities, good coaches and a family environment on the campus.”

Even though he is just finishing up his sophomore year of high school, Winslow has a tentative timetable for when he wants to end his recruitment as well. “Hopefully I’ll commit by the end of my senior year so I can have some fun,” he added.

****Bonus Content

We had a chance to take a look at Winslow at the EYBL so here’s our evaluation of him:

The Texas native definitely lived up to his billing and was terrific in many areas of the game. He had a reliable three-point shot with good range and a very nice stroke in the mid-range pull-up area. While stretching the defense out, he was also able to consistently get by his defender and then draw a second or third man and kick it out to the great shooters on his team such as class of 2014 small forward Justin Jackson.


One comment on “SF Justise Winslow looks to visit Duke, UCLA

  1. ‘Zona baby! Come win a championship

Leave a Reply

