Leave a comment

PF Jordan Bell “waiting for that UConn offer”

Photograph courtesy of C2C Recruiting.

Class of 2013 power forward Jordan Bell lists a plethora of offers from Texas, Nebraska, Alabama, Notre Dame, Virginia Tech, Gonzaga, St. John’s, Arizona, Arizona State, UCLA and USC.

However, he’s still waiting for one offer in particular.

“Same thing, just waiting for that UConn offer,” Bell told NRS when asked what has been going on in his recruitment lately. “I would most likely commit if they offered.”

The 6’8, 210-pound forward likes the 2011 National Champions because of just that — they win. “I like their whole system — both offense and defense,” Bell said. “They have a good history of winning and I love to win so I don’t want to go to a school that’s going to lose. I just want to go to a school where I can win a National Championship.”

The California native hasn’t been in contact with Connecticut personally, but does say that the Huskies have been in touch with one of his AAU coaches on a weekly basis. “They haven’t contacted me personally,” Bell said. “They’ve been contacting my AAU coach, [Compton Magic head] coach Jonathan “Spoon” Chaney. They don’t contact him every day, it’s like a once a week thing.

“My coach said he talked to them and they said they wanted to see how I finished my school year up grade wise and how my AAU summer goes.” If those are the reasons they have yet to offer, Bell could receive one in the near future since he’s excelling both on and off the court.

He’s expecting a 2.7 GPA to finish up the school year and has played very well on the AAU circuit. Bell leads the Nike EYBL in blocked shots with 64 through 20 games, 15 more than the next closest person, and was a standout at the Pangos All-American Camp last weekend. He’s also participating in the NBPA Top 100 High School Camp this week, an event NRS will cover live from Virginia.

In the mean time, Bell does have several programs he’s interested in outside of Connecticut. “I like Alabama, USC, Oregon, Oregon State, Arizona, Texas, Virginia Tech and Oklahoma,” he added. He also wants to visit Connecticut, Texas, USC, San Diego State, Oregon, Oregon State, Alabama, Virginia Tech and Oklahoma.

However, most of his interest does remain in Connecticut. “They fit me the best on and off the court,” Bell said. “I heard it’s a really good school. The academics appeal to me too. I want to be a lawyer so I know that’s what I want to study.”

Since he is still waiting for the Huskies to offer, he doesn’t know when he wants to commit. “I’m just going to wait and see what happens,” Bell said. “I have no timetable.”

Leave a Reply

