Leave a comment

Juwan Parker down to three, Memphis leads

Photograph by Daryl Paunil/NRS.

Class of 2013 shooting guard Juwan Parker has added two schools to his new list, but he’s now down to just three programs.

“I’m considering three schools right now,” Parker told NRS, “Memphis, Georgia and Stanford. I would rank them in that order.”

Parker previously had a top four that included Memphis, Oklahoma, Tulsa and Vanderbilt but he decided to do a little re-shuffling of his list. “With Vandy, they offered me but their head coach never started recruiting me,” Parker said. “Tulsa is just not for me and I feel Oklahoma has too many guys at my position.”

Since Memphis is the only school still remaining from that previous list, it makes sense that they’re his favorite program. “When they started recruiting me they jumped on me hard and followed me everywhere that summer,” Parker said of Memphis. “They let it be clearly known that they wanted me a lot and they wanted me in a Tigers uniform. Plus, they have a great coaching staff, I like their style of play and I felt at home there.”

The 6’4, 180-pound Oklahoma native has similar feelings about Georgia, too. “They also made it be known they wanted me,” Parker said of the Bulldogs. “[Head] coach [Mark] Fox recruited my brother and [assistant] coach [Kwanza] Johnson coached my brother at Tulsa. I know they’re good guys plus coach Fox is a great player developer and he gets a lot of guys to the league.”

One of the more interesting story lines about Parker’s new list is that Stanford made it, a program who hasn’t come on very strong until recently. “They just started recruiting me hard a month ago,” Parker said of the Cardinals. “I like the academic part and I’m supposed to take a visit there sometime this weekend.”

In addition to the Stanford visit, Parker plans on visiting Georgia some time in June and Memphis some time this summer. He also wants to end his recruitment on a similar time-table. “I’m pretty close to committing,” Parker added, “I still want to decide at the end of the summer.”


Leave a Reply

