7 Comments

’14 Pinson grew up a Duke fan, Irving a favorite

Photo taken by Daryl Paunil/NRS.

A lot of big time colleges have had their eyes on class of 2014 shooting guard Theo Pinson for a long time including Syracuse, Georgetown, Ohio State, Florida State and N.C. State — all schools who have offered him.

However, Pinson has long had his eye on one school in particular before he became a highly sought after recuit. “My favorite team growing up was Duke,” Pinson told NRS. “I think [they] were the first team I really watched a lot. Kyrie Irving and Daniel Ewing [were my favorites].”

Duke, along with North Carolina, Tennessee, Kansas, Baylor, Marquette, Kentucky and Arizona, have all shown interest in the 6’5, 185-pound guard.

The North Carolina native also says that there has been a lot going on his recruitment lately. “Right now, there’s a lot going on, I got a couple schools contacting my dad,” Pinson said. “I heard Indiana started recruiting me and I got an offer from Georgetown earlier in the week.”

However, he says that no one is standing out to him right now and no one is coming after him that much harder than anyone else. “There’s not really one particular school who is recruiting me the hardest,” Pinson said. “I hear from most of the schools probably every week and a half. It’s pretty equal right now.”

The Wesleyan Christian Academy (NC) attendee has taken multiple visits to a few different schools that he’s looking at. “I’ve been to Virginia Tech, but that was when Seth Greenberg was there, Duke, [North] Carolina, N.C. State, Tennessee, but that was when Bruce Pearl was there, I think that’s it,” Pinson added.

While going on these visits, he knows what he’s looking for in a program. “Atmosphere, coaching and a winning tradition matter to me. Also a family environment,” Pinson said. “I can play any style, that doesn’t really matter to me. I’ll do whatever gives us the best chance of winning. I can adapt to any system.”

Along with all of these coaches and schools coming after him, Pinson also has a couple of friends trying to convince him where to go to college, too. “I go to school with [class of 2012 point guard] Montay [Brandon] so he’ll tell me to come to Florida State every once in a while,” Pinson said, “and [class of 2012 shooting guard] Rodney [Purvis] told me to come to N.C. State.”

However, Pinson will first put a list together before he decides on where he’ll commit, something he hasn’t done yet that he plans on changing soon. “I’ll probably put a list together at the start of this basketball season coming up,” he added.


7 comments on “’14 Pinson grew up a Duke fan, Irving a favorite

  1. HOPE YOU COME TO DUKE BUDDY “WE REALLY NEED A GREAT POINT GUARD…SOON” DONNELL FROM CARY,NC “GO DUKE”

  2. I agree with anonymous on both parts GO DUKE and come on Mr Pinson We Do Need a Point guard Bad!!

  3. Mr Pinson WE NEED A GREAT POINT GUARD like yourself to join the BLUE DEVIL NATION. HELP Put DUKE BASKETBALL back on TOP OF THE COLLEGE BASKETBALL WORLD… ALSO why not Play for THE G.O.A.T. (COACH K) GO… DUKE….

  4. Duke is the best how can u go wrong with Coach Km

  5. Come to Duke Theo!!! Coach K will put you in the perfect position for a high draft stock, you and Tyus come that will be one of the best backcourts in recent Duke history!!!!

  6. Yes Duke does need a great recruit at point guard…BUT Pinson is a shooting guard. The “great point guard” of 2014 is Tyus Jones also being recruited by Duke.

  7. Just goes to show how smart Duke fans are. Pinson is a SG!

Leave a Reply

