1 Comment

2013 PG Monte Morris has two visits planned

Point guard Monte Morris is one of the top players in the state of Michigan in the class of 2013 but many of his college choices are located outside of his home state.

“I’ve been talking to Indiana, Rhode Island, Illinois, UTEP, Iowa State, USC, Arizona State, Marquette, Providence, North Carolina State, Butler and Georgia Tech,” Morris told NRS. “I don’t have a favorite school or a top five right now. I’m just enjoying the process and trying to get my visits scheduled.”

The 5’11, 150-pound floor general currently has two trips planned out and has already visited college, school and program.

“I’m going to Indiana May 4 for a visit and then I’m planning on attending Butler’s Elite Camp June 2,” Morris said. “Then I’m going to try to get out to Iowa State, USC and Georgia Tech. These schools were the ones who I’ve been talking to the most and they’ve been wanting me to come down since the winter.”

Morris has been talking with various committed prospects in the class of 2012 as well which he factors into his recruitment.

“I talk to [class of 2012 shooting guard] Sherron Dorsey-Walker a lot, a guy who’s committed to Iowa State,” Morris said. “I’ve spoken with [class of 2012 point guard] Chris Harrison-Docks, who’s going to Butler, a lot too. They just tell me that their schools are good programs and that I’d fit in really well. They’re both doing a good job. I’m also friends with [sophomore point guard] Maurice Jones from USC and [freshman guard] T.J. [Buchanan] from Rhode Island.”

While he speaks with these prospects, Morris keeps in mind what’s important to him in the recruiting process. As he talks with committed players he tries to envision how he sees himself fitting into that particular program.

“For style of play, I’m looking for a team that likes to score the ball, play a little up-tempo and is balanced,” Morris said. “Academics and the coaching staff – whether I have a good connection with them – are important too.

“The school that I’ll probably choose will probably have a good recruiting class coming in and an up-tempo style of play. That’s one thing I’ll definitely look at – who will be there with me and who will be able to help me.”

Morris, who lists offers from Murray State, Rhode Island, Arizona State, USC, Iowa State, Georgia Tech, Western Michigan and Marquette, among others, also knows what won’t factor into his recruitment.

“Location doesn’t matter at all,” Morris added. “My mom has said at the end of the day it’s me going to college so it’s my decision and distance doesn’t play a part in my recruitment.”

The big question that looms is when Morris plans on making that decision. According to him, he has no timetable and could commit at any point in time. “I’m still taking it step-by-step but if anything pops up or stands out, I could commit tomorrow or at the end of my senior year, that’s how we’re taking it,” Morris said.


One comment on “2013 PG Monte Morris has two visits planned

Leave a Reply

