1 Comment

Ojeleye to visit three; Duke, Indiana interested

Photo Credit: Lyndsey Johnston.

Class of 2013 small forward Semi Ojeleye is open in his recruitment and doesn’t have a list together yet, but that doesn’t mean he doesn’t know which schools he wants to get to know a little better.

“I’m hoping to get out to UCLA and Stanford,” Ojeleye told NRS. “I think we’re going to go back up to Wisconsin too. They’re showing a whole lot of interest and were the first school to offer me so that plays into things.

“At UCLA, they have a great history and high academics. It seems like a good place to land. As for Stanford, it’s real high academically and I like [head] coach [Johnny] Dawkins.”

Not only does he want to visit the Badgers again, but he also really likes their coaching staff.

“I think the coaching staff at Wisconsin [is my favorite],” Ojeleye said. “They’ve recruited me first out of everyone so I feel like I have the best relationship with them so far.”

Because of their constant contact, the Kansas native already took a trip to see head coach Bo Ryan and his coaching staff last summer. He has visited Kansas State, Oregon and Missouri, too. He also says that Wisconsin and UCLA have been recruiting him the hardest.

While he takes these visits, it’s important for the 6’6, 220-pound wing to keep in mind what he’s looking for in a school.

Get to know Semi Ojeleye
• Attends Ottawa Senior HS
• Plays AAU for Mo-Kan Elite
• Grew up a Kansas, UNC fan

“Academically, the school has to take care of business,” Ojeleye said. “Basketball wise, [I want] a school where I’ll play and the coaching staff has my best interest in mind.”

Ojeleye has a lot of schools to choose from to determine which one fits this profile the best.

He claims offers from Wisconsin, UCLA, Kansas State, Missouri, Oklahoma State, Stanford, Northwestern, Oregon State, Oregon and Nebraska, among others, and has drawn interest from Duke and Indiana in the past week.

With all of these programs to pick from, Ojeleye plans on taking his time with his recruitment.

“I was thinking that I was going to try to get it over with before the season,” he said, “but then things change and coaches get fired and different people come in. I don’t want to commit and then get trapped at wherever school I chose. I’m going to take my time, pray about it and see what God wants.”


One comment on “Ojeleye to visit three; Duke, Indiana interested

  1. […] Ojeleye to visit three; Duke, Indiana interested GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough_viplite"); Share this:FacebookTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Tags: Arizona, Duke, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas State, Mike Krzyzewski, Missouri, Oregon, Semi Ojeleye, Stanford, UCLA, Wisconsin Permalink […]

Leave a Reply

