1 Comment

’13 C Jimmie Taylor lists five; to visit three

Photo Credit: Steven Maikoski/USA Basketball.

Even though he’s just finishing up his junior year of high school, class of 2013 center Jimmie Taylor already knows when he wants to commit and which five schools interest him the most.

“I like Georgetown, Kentucky, Vanderbilt, Alabama and Tennessee,” Taylor told NRS. “I have offers from all of them except for Kentucky. I just think that they all have a lot to offer me and they can really develop me.”

Because of his interest in those schools, he’s looking to visit a few of them in the upcoming months.

“I know I want to take official visits to Georgetown, Vanderbilt [and] Kentucky in the fall,” Taylor said. “That’s it right now. I hear a lot about the campuses and I want to see how they are.”

The Alabama native also knows what he’s looking for in a school when he goes on these visits.

“Any system that will get me the ball,” Taylor said laughing. “Any style of play will be a good fit for me but I just want to be in a place where I’ll get some touches in the post. Just a system that I can go to work in. I want to be comfortable with the coaches. Whatever school is the best fit for me, I’ll commit there.”

Among the schools recruiting him, Taylor says that Alabama and Georgetown are recruiting him the hardest and that the Crimson Tide have his favorite coaching staff. He grew up an Alabama fan too but says that doesn’t impact his recruitment.

However, coaching staffs aren’t the only ones recruiting 6’10, 210-pound big man. Class of 2013 point guard Travon Landry is also lobbying Taylor to join him. “He just says to come with him to Tennessee and that it’s a good program headed in the right direction,” Taylor said. “He’s been doing an okay job. I’ve really been thinking about Tennessee a little.”

Taylor already has a timetable together for when he wants to commit, too. “I want to be committed before my senior season starts,” Taylor said. “I’ll be committed by October.’


One comment on “’13 C Jimmie Taylor lists five; to visit three

  1. […] In a recent article, Taylor told NRS what he was looking for in a program. “Any system that will get me the ball,” Taylor said laughing at the time. “Any style of play will be a good fit for me but I just want to be in a place where I’ll get some touches in the post. Just a system that I can go to work in. I want to be comfortable with the coaches. Whatever school is the best fit for me, I’ll commit there.” […]

Leave a Reply

