Leave a comment

Brandon (FSU) looks forward to ACC, talks Seminoles

Thanks to class of 2012 point guard Montay Brandon (Florida State) for doing the interview with us. The 6’4, 180-pound floor general attends Wesleyan Christian Academy (North Carolina) and plays with the Georgia Stars during the summer circuit. Brandon talked to us about his future Florida State team, his favorite basketball school growing up, who he looks forward to playing against and more. Check it out below.

Why did you commit to Florida State?

I felt like that was the perfect fit for me. I think they’ll really use my versatility on the offensive end and I really like the coaching staff. I talked to [head] coach [LeonardHamilton and [assistant] coach [Dennis] Gates a whole lot during my recruitment so I felt comfortable with them.

So it sounds like you think you’ll fit into the playing style well?

Yeah, I feel like I’ll fit in real well because they always have “tweeners” — guys who play the one, two and three like me — who always play well.

What was your favorite part of the recruiting process?

Probably when I finally got to go to Tallahassee, that was my favorite part. I was on my official visit when I went down there. I got to hang out with my future teammates, we played a little bit, I got to shoot around and got to chill with the coaching staff and see how they worked out and lifted weights. It was great. They were already my leader going into the visit and when I saw they were legit I didn’t see the point in waiting so I committed on my visit.

What was your least favorite part of the recruiting process?

All the phone calls, that was the most gruesome part but I also enjoyed it. Sometimes I got eight to ten a day, it was a lot. I came out of nowhere over the summer so I think they were all trying to catch-up.

Are you trying to recruit anybody to join you at FSU?

Nah, not really, I’ve just been talking to the guys [already committed] in my class. Me and [point guard] Devon [Bookert] talk a lot. We always talk about how when we get there we’re going to make some things happen.

Did you have a favorite basketball school growing up?

When I was younger I liked UCLA. I liked their jerseys, that powder blue with the gold man, I just liked those jerseys.

What do you like about Florida State that isn’t basketball related?

I like how the campus is really calm. It wasn’t loud, everybody was chill and calm.

Was there a particular moment that made you want to commit to FSU?

Right after I talked to coach Hamilton I figured I didn’t want to wait anymore. I didn’t hear any better plans for me that were better than the plans he had for me.

What do you think of Florida State’s start so far this season?

Obviously they’re great on the defensive end and we’re kind of lacking creativity on the offensive end. I think getting back [sophomore guard] Ian Miller will help out a lot.

What are you looking forward to at Florida State?

Playing [laughing], I’m ready to put on that jersey. Then you also got the college life and going to class and I’m looking forward to all of that.

What are your goals?

To make an impact on the team and to make the honor roll. I’ve always been on the honor roll and I want to continue that in college.

So why are academics important to you?

My mom instilled that academics were important when I was very young. Doing well in school is really going to give me a lot of options later on in life because you can’t play basketball forever. I’ll be able to explore other avenues in life and I’ll be prepared with a good education.

Who are you looking forward to playing with Florida State?

I’m looking forward to playing with Devon, Ian, [junior guard] Michael Snaer if he’s still there, I’d love to play with all the guys.

Are there any particular games you’re looking forward to?

I look forward to playing against [North] Carolina, Duke and Florida. I look forward to Florida because obviously that’s a rival school and North Carolina and Duke because they’re the top two teams in the ACC. Anytime you play against them you get their best shot and you got to give your best shot or you’re going to get killed.

Are there any players you look forward to playing against?

I’m looking forward to playing with the guys from my area because there’s a bunch of us going to ACC schools. You got [class of 2012 prospects] like [small forward] Aaron Rountree (Wake Forest), [shooting guard] Rodney Purvis (North Carolina State), [point guard] Tyler Lewis (North Carolina State), [point guard] Codi [Miller-McIntyre] (Wake Forest) and  [small forward] Montrezl Harrell (Virginia Tech).

How are you feeling now that the NBA is back on?

I’m a big NBA fan, I think the NBA is way more exciting this year because they’re more hungry with a shortened season.

Why do you play basketball?

I just enjoy it, I love being competitive and I love the crowd. I love playing for Wesleyan Christian Academy because we have one of the best student sections in the state. I also like playing in front of other student sections when we play away so I can keep them quiet.

What’s one thing people don’t know about you?

I guess I can sing a little bit, I used to be in honors chorus when I was younger.

What do you like to sing?

I just sing regular stuff, I like R&B the most.

What was the coolest part of the recruiting process for you?

Just committing to Florida State probably.


Leave a Reply

