1 Comment

Ledo on Providence, next Friar commit, drawing, NBA

Thanks to class of 2012 shooting guard Ricardo Ledo for doing the interview with us. The Providence-bound senior is one of the top scorers in the country and can light up the scoreboard in a variety of ways. He talked to NRS about who he’s recruiting to Providence, what his hidden talent is, who he looks forward to playing against and much more. Check it out below.

Why did you commit to Providence?

I just thought it was the best fit for me. I love playing in front of my family and I just thought that was the best situation for me since it’s close to home.

What was your favorite part of the recruiting process?

Having all the schools recruit me and some of the best in the country contacting me. It was cool talking to all the schools you see growing up as a kid and being apart of the recruiting process. That was probably the best part.

What was your least favorite part of the recruiting process?

All the phone calls. I got a lot, my junior year I got about five a day.

Why did you choose to commit to Providence at the time that you did?

I just thought it was the best time to get it out of the way and I wanted to get it over with before my senior season. I wanted to be able to focus on this season and play the best that I can and get better.

If you could get anyone to commit to Providence with you, who would it be?

If I could choose any player to commit to Providence, it would be… [class of 2012 power forward] Chris Obekpa and I’m also trying to help out with [class of 2013 center] Nerlens Noel. I’m trying to get [class of 2012 small forward] Jakarr Sampson on board and a couple more I haven’t named. I just tell them about the Providence atmosphere and to try to start something new, don’t try to be like everybody else and go to a school just because of the school’s name. I just tell them to be your own man, set your own trend.

Who do you think will be the next guy to commit to Providence?

I’m not sure, hopefully one of those guys I mentioned though.

Did you have a favorite basketball school growing up?

No, not really. I played football when I was younger so I always liked USC as a football school so that was it. As for basketball, no team in particular.

What position did you play in football?

I played Quarterback and Wide Receiver. I played football my first two years in high school and then stopped.

What do you like about Providence that isn’t basketball related?

It’s a good school academically, very, very good. The law program is great. There’s also a lot of success for people who went to Providence when they got a job later in life after college.

What do you like about Providence academically? Anything in particular or the general overall prestige?

I just like the general overall prestige. I’m not sure yet, but I think I may major in business or communications. I think it’s going to be business.

Was there a particular moment where you thought to yourself that you had to go to Providence?

No, not really. I just thought it was the best place for me. Overall, I looked at each school I was close to going to and decided Providence was the best fit for me.

What other school were you close to going to?

UConn, I really like the program but I don’t think they came after me as hard as I wanted.

What do you think of Providence’s season so far? Have you been tracking them?

Yeah, I have. I think they’re doing well. [Head] coach [Ed] Cooley is getting the guys to play hard and it shows.

What do you look forward to at Providence?

I’m looking forward to getting better and helping my team win from day one.

What are you goals for Providence?

Win a Big East Championship, get to the NCAA Tournament finals and then win the NCAA Tournament.

Are you looking forward to playing with anyone?

I’m just looking forward to playing with my team. I’ve learned to make the best of every situation I’m in and I’m going to try to win with whoever is out there with me.

Are there any particular match-ups you look forward to?

I’m not sure when Syracuse leaves the Big East but one of my best friends, he’s like a brother to me, [class of 2011 shooting guard] Michael Carter-Williams goes to Syracuse and I’m looking forward to playing against him. I have a friend who used to go to Pittsburgh, but now he’s transferring, [class of 2011 power forward] Khem Birch who I also want to play against. Those are just a couple guys I want to play against.

Why do you play the game of basketball?

I love the game, just the overall game. I get in a zone and I just love it.

You mentioned Syracuse leaving the Big East, what do you think of all the conference realignment?

I know a lot of it is because of football, but I don’t really pay attention to it. I understand a lot of teams want to leave and come in but I’m just ready to play in the Big East and play for Providence.

So how are you feeling about the NBA being back on?

Excited, I’m a big NBA fan. My favorite team is the Lakers and Kobe [Bryant] is my favorite player. I’ve always liked him, he’s a great scorer.

Is he someone you try to model yourself after on the court?

I try to take some things from Kevin Durant and Tracy McGrady and combine them.

What’s one thing people probably don’t know about you?

I like to draw. I’ll draw anything and I take art classes.


One comment on “Ledo on Providence, next Friar commit, drawing, NBA

  1. rick ledo the best scorer in the country

Leave a Reply

