1 Comment

WFU-commit talks Demon Deacons, more

Thanks to class of 2012 center Andre Washington for doing the interview with us. Andre is a 6’10, 210-pound big man who plays for Hargrave Military Academy during the school year. The Wake Forest-bound Virginia native talked to us about Wake Forest’s recruiting class, his future with the Demon Deacons, wanting to play against North Carolina junior power forward John Henson and much more. Check it out below.

Why did you choose Wake Forest?

They offered me after the basketball season of my junior year and I looked at all the schools who offered me at that time and I figured those were the programs who were most interested in me. I just thought Wake was the best school for me at the time and I still do.

Why did Wake stand out to you?

It’s a big school but at the same time it feels like a small school because not a lot of students go there and it’s great for academics and getting my degree. That degree will help me later on in life and get me somewhere after I graduate.

What was your favorite part of the recruiting process?

In general, I just liked the attention I was getting. A lot of letters were being sent to my home and it made me feel famous [laughing]. As far as Wake, I just like the coaching staff, to be honest. I love [associate head] coach [Jeff] Battle, he’s like a father to me. That way when I’m at Wake I won’t feel like I’m too far from home.

What was your least favorite part of the recruiting process?

After a while, all the calls and things like that got kind of annoying. If I were still uncommitted right now I’d be getting at least three calls a day probably and that would get annoying.

Why did you choose to commit at the time that you did?

I knew I had a good relationship with [class of 2012 commits point guard] Codi [Miller-McIntyre] and [small forward] Aaron [Rountree] already and I really liked Wake so I figured between two of my good friends going there and the fact that it’s a really good school I should go there too.

You’ve mentioned academics a few times, are there any specific programs that interest you?

No, not really, I just like the general overall prestige of Wake. I was thinking about going to UVA too but I liked Wake more and I thought the general overall prestige would look good when I graduate.

Who are you recruiting to come with you for the class of 2013 since 2012 is all filled up?

My friend [shooting guard] Jarod Williams, I want him to come because we played in the same conference back in my public school and I know Wake has looked at him really hard but I don’t know if they’ve offered him yet.

Who was your favorite basketball school to watch growing up?

I use to love the University of Maryland for the most part because my sister went there.

Did it affect your recruitment at all?

It didn’t really affect my recruitment because my mother always taught me that Maryland is my favorite school but I have to look at it more than that. She made me think what would be best for me and not just think about how they were my favorite school growing up. I know a lot of people who grew up liking certain schools like UNC or Duke but they didn’t actually go there.

What do you like about Wake Forest that isn’t basketball related?

I like the people, when I went there for my visit the people were so welcoming, I love the people at Wake.

Was there a particular moment in your recruitment where you knew you had to go to Wake?

One week during our season last year we had the whole week off so all I had to think about was where I wanted to go to school. I just knew that I really wanted to go to Wake.

What are you looking forward to at Wake?

I’m looking forward to college life because I haven’t experienced that yet. It will be something new.

Are you looking forward to playing with any of the guys in particular when you get to Wake?

I’m looking forward to playing with all of them. I’ve watched all them play and watched all their games and I’m excited to play with everyone.

Are there any games you’re looking forward to?

Oh yeah, I’m really looking forward to playing against Maryland simply because they used to be my favorite school. I’m also looking forward to playing Virginia Tech because where I’m from (Roanoke, Virginia), everyone loves Virginia Tech and that’s everyone’s favorite school.

What about players?

I want to play against [North Carolina junior power forward] John Henson. I’m a basketball player so I think I can take him on and I think I’m better than him. I think if I do well against him I’d make a name for myself in the ACC.

So then I guess you’re hoping he returns for his senior year?

Yeah, I really hope he does.

What’s the coolest thing you’ve gotten to do since you’re a highly touted recruit?

Sign autographs.

So how are you feeling now that the NBA is going to start up again?

I really didn’t even care if they had an NBA season or not this year, to be honest. I don’t really ever watch it to the playoffs anyway.

Why do you play the game of basketball?

I love to play it. I don’t play it for anyone else or just because I’m tall.

What’s one thing people probably don’t know about you?

I like to play instruments like piano and guitar. I think when I get to Wake I’m going to take a guitar class.

What type of music do you like to play?

Any kind, but I like the soft, mellow kind. I’ve always dreamed of playing the guitar or playing the piano and singing to a girl or something like that [laughing].

So have you tried that out yet?

Oh, na, na, I’m going to though.

Any YouTube videos of you playing?

No, but there will be.

What are some things you’re working on this year to get better at?

I want to build my body more. My skill set is there as far as making moves and stuff but I just want to be more powerful.

What are some of your goals for once you get to Wake Forest?

Personally, I want to start, I don’t know who wouldn’t want to play, but I think I can do it. As a team, I want to make it to the NCAA Tournament next year and by the time I leave I want to have at least a National Championship. If I didn’t think I could get a ring going to Wake Forest I wouldn’t have gone.


One comment on “WFU-commit talks Demon Deacons, more

  1. […] players, his dislike for Duke and North Carolina and much more. Take a look below and check out our interview with another class of 2012 Wake Forest-commit, center Andre […]

Leave a Reply

