1 Comment

Greene discusses commitment, who he’s recruiting

Greene on his Kansas visit. Photo Credit: Jeffrey Greene

After announcing his commitment to the Kansas Jayhawks this morning, Class of 2013 shooting guard Brannen Greene is undergoing a role-reversal.

Now he’s the one recruiting people to come join him at Kansas.

“I’m going to try to recruit,” says Greene. “I don’t want to go there by myself. There’s a couple players that I’m talking to and I’m trying to get them to join me.”

Among his wishlist is an elite trio of juniors who are all top-10 players. “I”m talking to [power forward] Chris [Walker], [shooting guard] Allerik [Freeman] and I might try to get [power forward] Julius [Randle],” says Greene. “I’m just telling them why I chose the program and what we could do if all of us go together.”

Greene says he choose the Jayhawks because of their playing style among other factors. “I just felt like I could thrive in the system on and off the court and I really like the environment,” says Greene.

The 6’6, 180-pound perimeter player called Kansas head coach Bill Self last night less than a week after he raved about his Late Night in the Phog visit in his National Recruiting Spotlight player blog, “Brannen’s Bulletin.” He also said in the same blog that he planned on committing this month.

Although his recruitment is over, he’s still working to become the best player he can be by the time he arrives in Lawrence.

“I’m working on my post game and trying to tighten that up,” says Greene. “I’m also trying to work on my point guard skills — I run it a lot in high school and Coach Self sees me running some point guard in college too. He sees me playing all three perimeter positions for him. I just want to go in and be the best player I can for him.”

Greene also discussed which match-ups in particular he’s looking forward to when he gets to Allen Fieldhouse. Says Greene, “I’m definitely looking forward to the Kansas State game, but I’m not sure if we’ll be playing Missouri, it would be a fun game.”


One comment on “Greene discusses commitment, who he’s recruiting

  1. […] Final link: A story about Greene turning into head KU recruiter now that he’s committed. […]

Leave a Reply

