Leave a comment

Johnson likes UofL; interested in Duke, UNC

Johnson Photograph courtesy of NY2LA Sports.

Class of 2013 shooting guard JaJuan Johnson is still in the beginning stages of the recruiting process, but he does already like one school in particular.

“I don’t really have a favorite school right now, but I’d put Louisville in my top five right now,” Johnson told NRS. “I don’t know who else is in it, but I’ll know by the end of the summer.”

One reason he likes the Cardinals is because he enjoyed the visit he recently took there. “I liked my Louisville visit,” Johnson added. “They took me around the campus and I had a one on one conversation with [head] coach [Rick] Pitino. We talked about things I can do my freshman year and that he likes to play freshmen and all of that.”

Johnson lists Louisville, along with Memphis, Tennessee, Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Marquette, Cincinnati, Miami (FL), Virginia Tech, Florida and Texas, as the schools who have offered and says he has also drawn interest from Kentucky and Georgetown.

However, there are two schools he likes in particular who have yet to offer or show interest in him. “Yeah, Duke or North Carolina,” Johnson replied when asked if there was a school that hasn’t shown interest that he would commit to if offered. “I’d be highly excited to get offered from either of those so I probably would [commit].”

Johnson later said that he grew up a fan of the Tobacco Road rivals as well as Texas. “I liked Texas and North Carolina and Duke,” he added. “Those were the schools I would always see on TV. I grew up watching them a lot.”

The Longhorns are also a program that the 6’5, 185-pound Tennessee native is looking to visit. “I’m trying to get to Texas by July. They’ve been asking me to come to their campus but I have to figure out how I’m going to get there,” Johnson said. “I also plan on visiting Alabama by the end of this month.” He has already visited Memphis, Mississippi and Louisville.

While taking these visits, something he keeps in mind is what he’s looking for in a program. “A school that gets up and down and runs my type of game that gets a lot of basket,” Johnson said. “I’m looking for a school that I can have a good relationship with and a city where I could live in after I get done playing.”

Another thing that could potentially factor into his decision is what a friend of his wants to do. “Me and [class of 2013 small forward] Nick King talk about going to the same school,” Johnson said. “It’s important but it’s not that important. It’s just whatever fits us both. If something fits him but not me it obviously wouldn’t work out.”

In the mean time, Johnson has a pretty good idea of when he wants to make his own decision. “I want to commit right before my senior season,” he said. “I want to enjoy my senior year.”

Leave a Reply

