Leave a comment

Dakarai Allen talks UCLA visit, SDSU next

Photograph courtesy of The Sacramento Bee.

Class of 2013 small forward Dakarai Allen is still waiting to collect more offers as his summer progresses, but he is getting a head start on one aspect of his recruitment: taking visits.

“I visited UCLA while I was in the area for Pangos,” Allen told NRS. “I really liked it. I liked the people around me; I like the whole aura of the staff and everyone there. The Hall of Fame display was amazing… it was insane.”

The Bruins also have an advantage since one of his family member’s likes them. “My dad likes UCLA, it affects me a little but if I went to UCLA that would make my dad proud,” Allen added.

Their coaching staff has made an impression on him as well. “I don’t have a favorite coaching staff,” he said, “but I have great relationships with UCLA and Colorado; I talk to them really well.” Colorado is the school recruiting him the hardest too.

Allen lists offers from Colorado, Oregon State, Santa Barbara, Fresno State, Arizona State, USF, Saint Mary’s and San Diego State in addition to interest from Oregon, Arizona, UCLA, Cal and most recently Tennessee.

The Aztecs are up next among the schools Allen plans on visiting. “I’m going to take an unofficial to San Diego State either late June or August,” he said, “and I may take a couple visits while I’m out at the Reebok camp. I don’t know which schools yet because I haven’t talked to my dad about it.”

San Diego State has received help recruiting Allen from one of their players too. “[Junior guard] Xavier Thames from San Diego State has been recruiting me,” he said. “He says I need to commit to San Diego State right now. I’ve known him since fourth grade.”

With all of these people recruiting him, it’s important that he knows what he’s looking for in a school, and it seems like he does. “I just want to go somewhere that fits my playing style and a place where I can get on the court as a freshman and help my team,” Allen added. “I want to play more of a run’n’gun system where I get out and run so I can show that part of my game.”

Since he is still open in his recruitment and is still picking up offers on a regular basis, Allen doesn’t have a timetable yet for when he wants to commit. “I don’t have a timetable,” he said. “I can’t make a decision until I get all my offers and see everything that’s out on the table for me.”

Leave a Reply

