Leave a comment

Jones favors Missouri, Washington State

Photograph courtesy of Daryl Paunil/NRS.

Class of 2013 power forward Torren Jones is just starting to get going on the summer circuit and is continually picking up more and more interest from college coaches, but he already has a couple of schools standing out to him.

“Right now I’m liking Washington State and Missouri [the most],” Jones told NRS. “I like the way Washington State plays and I like the coaching staff. I like Missouri because of the conference they’re in.”

He also says he likes Washington State’s coaching staff the most and that Colorado and Washington State are recruiting him the hardest.

Jones lists offers from Colorado, New Mexico, Missouri and Washington State in addition to interest from UTEP, San Diego State, Memphis, Utah State, Colorado State, Utah, FSU, Miami, Tulsa and Washington, among others.

The 6’8, 220-pound Chicago native has already visited Colorado, UCLA and USC but does have a few more programs he wants to take a closer look at. “I definitely want to visit Washington State, Colorado and New Mexico,” Jones said, “I’m not sure about the others. They’ve shown interest in me so I want to see what they’re like.”

He also knows what he’s looking for in his future school. “Location, style of play, playing time as a freshman and academics all matter to me,” Jones added. “I want to get up and down in transition.”

Although Jones’ recruitment has been picking up since the AAU season began, he’s still hoping some additional schools show some interest in him. “I’d like Kansas, Ohio State, Marquette and Syracuse to get involved,” Jones said. “Syracuse because I like the way they played last year and Marquette because they’re kind of close to where I’m from. Kansas has good big men and Ohio State has good big men too.”

Since his recruitment is just starting to heat up and he’ll likely add several more offers, Jones is willing to wait when it comes to making a decision. “I’ll probably commit after my high school season when basketball ends,” he added.

Leave a Reply

