Leave a comment

Jordan Matthews helped by EYBL, to visit Cal

Photograph by Daryl Paunil/NRS.

The Nike EYBL was made so the best prospects and AAU teams in the country could square off and to help develop youth basketball players; but it has also helped prospects with their recruitment, too.

“I think it has helped my recruitment a lot,” class of 2013 shooting guard Jordan Matthews told NRS. “It shows coaches that I’m not just a jump shooter, I can score the basketball, I can rebound and I can do other things besides shoot.”

Matthews has starred throughout the EYBL thus far for a first place California Supreme team, averaging over 15 points per game while shooting close to 50% from three-point land. He is also shooting 84% from the free throw line and is third on his team in assists.

Matthews attributes part of his success on the court to playing in the EYBL. “The EYBL has helped me a lot on the court,” he added. “Before I came here, I didn’t know how I would fare against the best players in the country and the best teams in the country. It’s a really good experience and it has helped me a lot since I’ve been able to go up against the best [players and teams] in the country.”

The 6’3, 180-pound guard lists interest from Kansas, Indiana, Kansas State, Washington State, Cal, Gonzaga, Nevada and Oregon, too, in addition to offers from San Francisco, Wyoming, VCU and San Diego State. “I talk to VCU a lot and I talk to Gonzaga a lot, those are the schools I talk to the most. I’m just taking it all in right now,” Matthews says. “VCU and Gonzaga are recruiting me the hardest.”

Photograph by Daryl Paunil/NRS.

Because they’ve been contacting him so much, Matthews says VCU is also the school with his favorite coaching staff. “VCU’s coaching staff is really cool, I talk to them a lot,” he says. “They’re probably my favorite coaching staff right now. They don’t just tell you what you do well, they tell you what you need to work on and [head] coach [Shaka] Smart, [assistant] coach [Will] Wade and [assistant] coach [Jeremy] Ballard are all really cool. I like talking to them.”

VCU is one of the programs Matthews is looking to visit, too. “I’m going to visit Cal on the 30th of June and I’ll schedule more as time goes on but that’s it for now,” he added. “I also want to visit Colorado, VCU, Gonzaga, Kansas State and UTEP.

“I want to visit Gonzaga because I want to see their arena, VCU because I want to see how they work out in the off-season and how they train their players for the next level and Cal because people tell me how great the campus is. My friend who plays football — Taylor Pope was up there a couple days ago and said it was great so I just want to see it.”

Matthews also knows what he’s looking for in a program. “I want an up-tempo style, a place where I’ll get better where my game will improve over the course of four years, a family atmosphere and a place we’ll win,” he said.

However, he doesn’t know when he wants to commit. “I don’t have a timetable for when I’ll decide, I’ll just commit when the time feels right,” he added.

Leave a Reply

