Leave a comment

VT’s new staff chasing SF Hart, not in top five

Photo by Daryl Paunil/NRS.

It didn’t take long for new Virginia Tech head coach James Johnson to hit the recruiting trail for the Hokies.

Just 18 days after replacing Seth Greenberg as the head man in Blacksburg, Johnson offered class of 2013 small forward Josh Hart last Friday, joining Georgetown, Villanova, Penn State, Xavier, Marquette, N.C. State and San Diego State, among others.

“My latest offer is from Virginia Tech,” Hart told NRS. “I don’t really know the new coaching staff that well but they seem really genuine.”

However, that’s not good enough for the Hokies to make his top five.

“My list is San Diego State, Villanova, North Carolina State, Marquette and Georgetown,” Hart said. “I just like the coaching staffs, community and the players on and off the court at those schools. They’re all equal right now, I’m not really sure where each school ranks.”

Although, that list may be trimmed down to four since the Hoyas just picked up a commitment from class of 2013 small forward Stephen Domingo. “I’m not sure about Georgetown because they just picked up a player at my position,” he added. “I’m not positive yet where they stand.”

In the mean time while Hart decides on where Georgetown stands in his recruitment, he will be taking a closer look at two schools — one that’s on his list and one that isn’t. “I have no visits planned but I am trying to visit Villanova and George Washington next month,” Hart said “They’re close and I have good relationships with those coaching staffs.”

He also has a general timetable for when he’s looking to commit. “I’ll most likely commit in the fall,” he added.


Leave a Reply

