Leave a comment

Thornwell a UNC fan, recruitment heating up

Photo taken by Daryl Paunil/NRS.

Class of 2013 shooting guard Sindarius Thornwell is from a small city in South Carolina, but he has some of the biggest schools from around the country chasing after him.

“I have offers from everyone in the ACC except for Duke, Carolina and Maryland, OSU, Memphis, South Carolina, Tennessee, Villanova, N.C. State and some others,” Thornwell told NRS. “And I have interest from Syracuse, Missouri, Michigan State, Georgetown and Indiana.”

However, even with all of these schools to pick from, Thornwell says that he isn’t concentrating on his recruitment right now. “No one is standing out, I’m not really focusing on schools right now,” Thornwell said.

Although, he does know what he’s looking for in his potential school. “The playing style, do they have what I want to major in which is broadcast journalism; it doesn’t matter where it’s located,” Thornwell said. “Does the coach let you do what you can do within his system? I want to come in and play as a freshman.”

He’s able to identify the system he’s interested in playing, too. “More of a pick-and-roll system where you push the ball, drive-and-kick and up-tempo,” he added. “I don’t really want to play like a Princeton style, that’s too slow.”

Photograph taken by 247Sports.

Thornwell also says that Clemson, South Carolina and Tennessee have been recruiting him the hardest and since the Tigers have been recruiting him for so long and so hard, he has developed a good relationship with their coaching staff.

“It would be Clemson [that has my favorite coaching staff] since they’ve been recruiting me the longest and I have the best relationship with [head] coach [Brad] Brownell and [assistant] coach [Earl] Grant,” he added.

Another thing that could impact his recruitment is his AAU teammate, class of 2013 center Kennedy Meeks.

“Me and Kennedy Meeks have been playing AAU for four years so we have a good relationship,” Thornwell said. “We’ve talked about it but not in a while.”

Former North Carolina star Raymond Felton may have an impact on his recruitment, too. “I grew up a Carolina fan and liked Raymond Felton since he’s from South Carolina so I always enjoyed watching him play,” Thornwell said. “When he went out there, I was always liking Carolina, they were my favorite school. And of course, Michael Jordan went there.”

However, for now, Thornwell is still in the beginning of his recruiting process and has no timetable for his recruitment. “Whenever I put my list together that’s when I’ll start to focus on schools,” he added.


Leave a Reply

