Leave a comment

’13 Portis talks Arkansas; recruiting Kingsley

Thanks to class of 2012 power forward Bobby Portis for doing the interview with us. The 6’9, 220-pound forward is a Little Rock native who attends Hall High School and runs with the Arkansas Wings Elite during the AAU season. He talked to us about who he’s recruiting to join him, what he looks forward to once he gets to Arkansas and much more. Be sure to join over 2,000 people and follow him on Twitter.

Photograph Credit: ARPreps.com

Why did you commit to Arkansas?

I’m a hometown kid. Growing up in Arkansas, all you see around town is Razorbacks and it kind of persuaded me towards them. I like [head coach] Mike Anderson a lot; I love his pace because he likes to play fast and I like to play fast. It’s just a great fit.

Why did you commit at the time that you did?

It was a dream of mine to play for the Razorbacks. Since I was a little kid, I always wanted to play for them.

What was your favorite part of the recruiting process?

The coaches coming to see me during the game. I would look up and see Mike Anderson, [Florida head coach] Billy Donovan, [Florida assistant coach] John Pelphrey or one of those guys and to see them at my games really motivated me to play even harder.

What was your least favorite part of the recruiting process?

All of the phone calls, coaches would just keep calling you and you would hear the same thing over and over again.

Are you trying to recruit anyone to join you at Arkansas?

Yes I am. I’m talking to Moses Kingsley, he’s on my [Arkansas Wings Elite] AAU team, he’s a center and a shot-blocker and that’s pretty much the only person I’m trying to persuade to attend Arkansas.

What are you telling him?

Every now and then I’ll say ‘woo pig sooie’ like in the room or hotel room and everything. I’ll just keep screaming ‘woo pig sooie!’

How good of a chance do you think Arkansas has with him?

I think we have a good shot at him because Moses and I share a close bond together on and off the court so I think we have a good chance of landing him.

What are your goals for your time at Arkansas?

I want to be the SEC champions, I want to shock the world and be national champions, and I don’t really have any personal goals, I just want our team to win a lot.

Are you looking forward to playing with anyone in particular?

Not anyone in particular, I just want to be a Razorback and bring us back to the top.

Photograph courtesy of Bobby Portis.

So do you have any Arkansas fans hitting you up on Facebook or Twitter?

Yeah, they really help me on Twitter. I really appreciate the fan support and they’re really active with all there tweets. Anything I tweet, they’ll re-tweet or comment on it and then put ‘woo pig sooie’ and I love that! My favorite tweet was when someone tweeted ‘We are waiting on you to bring us back to the top #Inbobwetrust.’

In talking to you, it’s really obvious that you’re happy to be a Razorback, how excited are you to get on campus in a couple of years?

I’m really excited but I can’t over-excite myself because I still have to go to class and be a student before I’m an athlete. But I’m still really excited.

Are you looking forward to any match-ups once you get to Arkansas?

I’m really looking forward to playing Kentucky, I think we can beat them. [Class of 2012 shooting guard] Archie Goodwin was on my AAU team and we’ve been talking about it. He has been saying that if he’s still at Kentucky, then they’re going to do us in and beat us by 20. I was just like ‘don’t sleep on us, just watch.’

What has been the coolest part of the recruiting process for you?

I think the coolest part of the recruiting process is playing in front of all the coaches I’ve played in front of like [Duke head coach] Mike Krzyzewski, [North Carolina head coach] Roy Williams and all of those coaches who came to my games just to see how good I was. That’s the coolest part is to see those coaches.

What’s one thing people probably don’t know about you?

I watch a lot of T.V. When I come home at like 8:00 until 10pm, I’m constantly watching ESPN, my T.V. never changes. I just constantly watch it, it can be repeats of the same show but I’ll still watch it.

Do you have any funny or interesting recruiting stories?

I don’t remember which coach it was, but he said something like he could guarantee me a certain amount of minutes and I can be the man. I was like, ‘hold on yo, I don’t want to be guaranteed anything, I want to go in and work for it,’ that’s what I was thinking in my head.

What are you trying to improve on this summer?

I’m trying to improve on my dribbling, my post-game so I can be more effective down the stretch, I’m trying to work on my upper-body strength and work on my athleticism so I can get off the ground and dunk on folks.

What are your goals for the summer?

I want to be able to win Peach Jam with the Wings, I want to win a National Championship and that’s pretty much it.

Leave a Reply

