Leave a comment

’15 PG Briscoe to visit three, four coming hard

Briscoe blocks a shot. (Daryl Paunil/NRS)

Class of 2015 point guard Isaiah Briscoe hasn’t even started his sophomore year of high school yet, but he already has offers from Syracuse, Pittsburgh, Arizona, Seton Hall, Rutgers, Baylor, Miami (FL), Seton Hall and Cincinnati, among others.

The New Jersey native has also drawn interest from the likes of Duke, Kentucky, Ohio State, Connecticut and Florida. With all of this attention, it’s important for Briscoe to know what he’s looking for in a school.

“I’m looking at style of play and the coaching system,” he told NRS. “I want to be free in a pick-and-roll [system] because that’s how I’ve been playing all of my life. I’m at my best when I’m in the open court.”

However, even though he’s able to identify what he’s looking for in a school, he has yet to identify a favorite school or a program he’s leaning towards, despite recent reports. “Nope, everyone is equal,” Briscoe said. He later went on to emphatically deny that he is leaning towards Syracuse or that they’re his favorite.

However, the Orangemen are one of the programs recruiting him the hardest, along with Baylor, Pittsburgh and Seton Hall. He has also visited Syracuse and Seton Hall in addition to Rutgers and Villanova.

Briscoe is looking to visit a few more programs as the summer progresses. “I look to visit Florida, UConn and maybe Arizona,” Briscoe added. “My AAU trips this summer will be close to those schools.”

Briscoe blocks another shot. (NRS)

The 6’3, 190-pound floor general also told NRS that he grew up a fan of the Gators and Huskies but that it doesn’t impact his recruitment. One thing that may impact his recruitment, though, is the fact that some of his friends are recruiting him to their respective schools.

“[Class of 2013 power forward] Mike Young, [class of 2012 shooting guard] Melvin Johnson (Miami) and [class of 2013 point guard] Tyler Ennis have been talking to me,” Briscoe said. “They’re telling me that they need a good guard. Tyler is just talking to me about all the schools we have the same offers from — Baylor, Syracuse, Arizona, Pittsburgh and Miami (FL). [Where Tyler goes] plays a big factor in my recruitment.”

Another thing that will affect what school Briscoe decided on is fan support and how much interest schools show in him. “I gotta go where they love me,” he added. Briscoe has no timetable for when he wants to put together a list or eventually commit.


Leave a Reply

