9 Comments

Williams to expand list, likes UK coaches best

After class of 2013 small forward Troy Williams decided not to commit last week, he told NRS minutes ago that he now plans on adding schools to his list.

“We’ll probably let two more schools back in, just to see what else is out there,” Williams told NRS. “It’s probably going to be between Florida, Villanova, Georgetown and Louisville. It will probably be Georgetown and Florida.”

Although he’s looking to expand his list, the Virginia native said he knew which program he wanted to commit to last week but wasn’t entirely ready to end the recruiting process.

“That morning, I talked to my uncle [Boo Williams] about it and we decided to hold off,” Williams said. “I didn’t really feel like it was too early but we both didn’t feel too comfortable with it.”

The 6’6, 190-pound freakishly athletic wing is also taking one factor into consideration when he does finally commit. “That’s the deciding factor, which head coach I like more,” Williams said. “I care about my relationship with the head coaches, not just the assistants. It all depends on the coaching staff.”

He also has an idea of which coaches he likes the most. “It would be the Kentucky coaches because before the dead period I stayed in touch with [Kentucky assistant] coach Orlando [Antigua] the most,” Williams added.

Even though he says the coaching staff is the be-all, end-all, he did go more in-depth with us and described what he likes about Kentucky and North Carolina.

“I love how great I get along with [head] coach Roy [Williams],” Williams said. “The players get along well with each other and I get along well with the players – some of them came from my uncle’s [Boo Williams AAU] program. It’s a really good school, has really good academics and the campus is nice and the guys like coach Roy.

“Same thing with Kentucky, I like [head] coach [John] Calipari a lot. I like the players – I get along with them well and they get along with each other well, the campus is really nice – I really like the campus, good academics and it’s the same with North Carolina, it just depends on which coach I like more.”

He has a new timetable in mind too, although he doesn’t know the exact date. “After the AAU season, after everything is over with,” Williams said.


9 comments on “Williams to expand list, likes UK coaches best

  1. Where in this article does he state he likes the UK coaches best???

    • Sixth paragraph: “He also has an idea of which coaches he likes the most. ‘It would be the Kentucky coaches because before the dead period I stayed in touch with [Kentucky assistant] coach Orlando [Antigua] the most,’ Williams added.”

  2. Nevermind, I see it.

  3. Thank-you sir

  4. I think he should go to North Carolina

  5. go to uk!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. North Carolina needs to move on and forget about this guy.

Leave a Reply

