4 Comments

Coach went to church for White, full interview

Thanks to class of 2012 small forward Andrew White (Kansas) for doing the interview with us. The Virginia native currently attends The Miller School and stands at 6’6, 195 pounds. He talked to us about a funny recruiting story of his, what he looks forward to doing at Kansas and much more. Be sure to join nearly 2,000 other people and follow him on Twitter.

Why did you commit to Kansas?

Kansas just gives me the opportunity to develop and play early so I just wanted to be in a space where I could come in and compete for some minutes early. It’s also a system that I think is good for shooters — my strength — and I think they’re always going to win games which is something I want to do also.

Why did you commit at the time that you did?

I committed as soon as I was sure that’s where I wanted to go. There was no specific reason other than I felt I was ready to commit to Kansas.

What was your favorite part of the recruiting process?

My favorite part of the recruiting process is being able to go to college and get your education for free by playing basketball. That was my dream growing up so it was good that I had several options of where I could play collegiate ball.

What was your least favorite part of the recruiting process?

My least favorite part of the recruiting process by far was letting all of those other schools down who were recruiting me. I had a lot of good relationships with other coaches who recruited me and there were a lot of other schools that I liked and at the end of the day I could only pick one.

Photo Credit: Progess-Index.

What do you like about Kansas that isn’t basketball related?

They have good facilities, I like the fan support and I went to a communication’s class on my visit so that’s a degree that I think will go well at Kansas. It’s also a different area so it will be good to play college ball somewhere different from what I’m used to so it’s good diversity.

Is communications something you’re interested in?

That’s the only thing I have an interest in right now. I just think if an athlete can talk and interview, that’s very valuable when you’re trying to get a job and in everyday life. I think communication skills are very important and me being an athlete, I think it’s an added advantage.

So what was your reaction to Kansas making the National Championship game?

I was very happy for the program to go that far, especially when the expectations weren’t up at that level. It was good seeing them play in such a high level game and it just makes me want to get there that much more.

What are your thoughts on the other Kansas commits?

They all seem motivated to put the team before themselves so I think that will be a big part of our winning. When you have younger guys that buy into the team concept, that’s what it takes for people to do well and for a program that wins, you can’t go that far with anyone being selfish. The team going as far as they did this year opened my eyes to the fact that it takes the whole team and whole staff to get there and that’s where we want to go.

Are you recruiting any class of 2013 guys to join you at Kansas?

I haven’t talked to any 2013 guys who aren’t already committed. There’s not anyone in my area that I know of who’s being recruited by Kansas so it’s kind of hard but I’m sure I’ll be reaching out to somebody soon to go to Kansas.

What are some of your goals for your time at Kansas?

My goal is to make as smooth as an adjustment to college as possible both in college life and the playing style on the court. I want to progress throughout my career at a high rate and win as much as possible in addition to being a good student.

Are you looking forward to playing with anyone in particular at Kansas?

The whole team that was there for the Final Four last year because I know they can help me get better since they’ve been to a place where I want to get to. Those guys will be motivated to get back there and I think someone from the freshman class will have to help them get back there so I think they’ll be willing to help me and I should be able to come in and contribute to the team. I look forward to playing with all of them.

Are you looking forward to any particular games?

Of course the rivalry with Kansas State, I’m not sure how the Missouri thing will work out. Any game close to home, big rivalry games, tournament games and College GameDay games. One thing I learned was that when you play for Kansas, every game is a huge game just because everyone gives Kansas their best shot so I look forward to the season in general and not just one particular game.

Photo Credit: Daily Progress.

What’s your favorite basketball memory?

My favorite basketball memory is the first session of the AAU circuit when I really turned my game up a notch and started putting on a show for college coaches. My hard work played off and that’s what I always envisioned when I prepared for the AAU circuit.

Why do you play the game of basketball?

I’ve been playing it since I was a kid, I love it. I just want to play for as long as I can and I’ve made a lot of friends through basketball. It defines me and is something that I enjoy.

What has been the coolest part of the recruiting process for you?

Being invited to the high-profile events and being around people who are a lot better off than I am. I have the experience of always being around people who are bigger and better than me so it keeps me motivated. There are some basketball players who just stay local and they don’t know anything better than what’s around them but me being all around the country makes me realize that I have to work hard to get where I want to go. I’m grateful for that because you have to have something that pushes you and I’m motivated by all of the people around me.

What’s one thing that people probably don’t know about you?

I’m a really quiet person. People say that I’m cocky because I don’t talk — it’s really one of the most amazing things ever — but I’m just a low-key kind of person. I’m not conceited about the recruiting and basketball thing, that’s something that people don’t realize is that I just don’t talk a lot. It’s interesting to hear people’s responses to that and how they interpret it.

Do you have any funny or interesting recruiting stories?

One college coach came to my church one time and that was said to be an old school recruiting move, something that was done back in the day to really show support, I thought that was pretty interesting. I’ll keep him anonymous but it was pretty effective. It’s not the school that I chose but for a school to show up on a sunday at your church, that shows that you’re wanted and that’s a good feeling. I think it’s a very effective recruiting move.

Also, just walking into an open gym or workout and there being 15 college coaches there all for you, I think that’s kind of funny and humbling.


4 comments on “Coach went to church for White, full interview

  1. I really can’t wait to see this kid play at KU. He already has a lot of fans there due to some of his great interviews. Nice humble guy who just wants to come in and work hard and contribute however he can. Gotta love the attitude.
    A tip, defense gets you minutes more than anything else.

  2. Impressive, This kid has been mentored by outstanding people. When I see KU loose out on recruites, you wonder what is going through their mind. But in this case, Andrew really gets the big picture. I know im bias when it comes to KU basketball, but if you go to Lawrence you get the warmth of a small but progressive town with big time support & expectations. not to mention national exposure. If you are good enought to play there. whats better than that?

  3. I think this kid has a real chance of coming in and being an impact player his freshman season. I’ve seen several videos of Andrew White and with his ball handling and shooting skills, he looks that he could handle the two or three positions without much trouble and he really gets after the ball when rebounding.

Leave a Reply

