Leave a comment

FSU leads for in-state SG Demarcus Croaker

When talking to class of 2013 shooting guard Demarcus Croaker about factors in his recruitment, location isn’t one of them.

However, that doesn’t mean the Orlando native doesn’t like the local schools.

“Florida State is standing out to me a lot,” Croaker told NRS. “I’m still keeping my options open and looking at other schools though, to see where else I could go.

“I love Florida State’s coaches — like [head] coach [Leonard] Hamilton and [associate head] coach [Stan] Jones — and I think it’s a really good school to go to education wise. I love the basketball program because they play my style and play hard. I also like the history of the program.”

Croaker says that the Seminoles have been recruiting him the hardest too and that he likes their coaches the most. “They’re really cool dudes to hang around with and talk to. I really like how they develop their guards and how they use their guards a lot,” he added.

He has visited Florida State in addition to Florida, Miami (FL) and UCF.

Croaker has been drawing a significant amount of attention from college coaches recently, both locally and nationally. The 6’2, 170-pound two guard boasts offers from Florida State, UCF, Miami (FL), Virginia Tech, Marshall and Central Michigan, among others, and has drawn interest from several schools including Texas, Massachusetts, Illinois, Indiana, Florida, Oklahoma and Tennessee.

With all of these programs chasing after him, it’s important that Croaker knows what he’s looking for in a school. “I want to join a good basketball program and get a good education. I want to play in an up-and-down, run-and-gun type of system,” he added.

He also knows when he wants to commit to a school and has a timetable for when he wants to narrow his list down.

“I want to make my decision in November,” Croaker said. “I want to get it over with before the high school season starts. I want everything planned out before the season hits. I’m trying to narrow my list down during October.”

Leave a Reply

