2 Comments

’13 Walton discusses Michigan, other commits

Thanks to class of 2013 point guard Derrick Walton (Michigan) for doing the interview with us. The Chandler Park Academy attendee stands at 6’0, 165 pounds and is a Detroit native. He talked to us about his future with the Wolverines, why he picked Michigan and much more. Be sure to join over 2,000 other people and follow Derrick on Twitter. Check out our interview with him below.

Why did you commit to Michigan?

I just felt like it was the best spot for me. I really like the coaching staff, playing style and value of the education. They use a lot of ball screens, which I love, and the offense just allows you to make plays and I think I can make plays. I probably want to major in sports medicine and the people at Michigan are really nice.

Why did you commit at the time that you did?

I knew where I wanted to go and my recruitment was getting kind of hectic. I didn’t see the point in delaying it.

What was your favorite part of the recruiting process?

Just talking to the coaches. I liked that they were honest with me and that I could easily talk to them.

What was your least favorite part of the recruiting process?

Probably playing under all of that pressure in the July period when all the coaches we’re watching my games.

What do you think of the other Michigan commits?

I know for a fact that [class of 2013 power forward] Mark [Donnal] is going to be a really good player. [Class of 2013 shooting guard] Zak [Irvin] is also a really good player so I think all of us plus [class of 2013 small forward] Austin [Hatch] will gel well together and do good things at Michigan.

What are your goals for your time at Michigan?

I want to take us to the National Championship. Everybody just needs to buy into the system and go hard everyday. I’m going to do whatever it takes to get there.

What has been the coolest part of the recruiting process for you?

Just the love that the fans show through social media. I appreciate stuff like that. My favorite message was when someone said I was going to be a star at Michigan and in the NBA, I appreciated that.

What’s your favorite basketball memory?

Scoring 55 points in a game as a fifth grader.

I didn’t know teams scored 55 points in the fifth grade [laughing].

Well, we did [laughing].

What are you trying to improve on this summer?

Getting stronger and working on my overall game. I’m just going to put a lot of time in the gym and pay a lot of attention to the weight program.

What’s one thing people probably don’t know about you?

I’m a mamma’s boy. I’m pretty sure she’s going to go to all of my games [at Michigan].

Did you have a favorite college basketball team growing up?

I’ve always been a fan of [Kentucky head] coach [John] Calipari‘s team’s like his old Memphis teams and Kentucky teams now. I also like [Duke head] coach [Mike] Krzyzewski‘s team’s.

What type of opportunities has basketball opened up for you?

It has taken me to places that I would have never imagined going to. I got to go to Germany with Team USA, it was a great experience, I had a lot of fun.

2 comments on “’13 Walton discusses Michigan, other commits

  1. [...] what he likes about Michigan, meeting Erin Andrews and much more. Michigan fans should also check out our interview with class of 2013 point guard Derrick Walton and follow Irvin on [...]

  2. [...] you’re a Michigan fan, also check out our interviews with class of 2013 commits point guard Derrick Walton and small forward Zak Irvin. Be sure to join close to 1,000 other people and follow Mark on [...]

Leave a Reply

