Leave a comment

Lindsey a UNC fan, UK expressing interest

Photograph courtesy of Jalen Lindsey.

Class of 2014 small forward Jalen Lindsey doesn’t have an offer from North Carolina yet, but if he gets one [which is very possible for the standout sophomore], the Tar Heels will be a major player in his recruitment.

“When I was growing up it was always North Carolina [who I liked],” Lindsey told NRS. “They’ve always had a real good history, a lot of good players who have went there and that really inspired me because I really like some of the players. I really like [head] coach [Roy] Williams and I’ve always liked the team, period. It’s always been one of my favorite teams growing up.

“It impacts my recruitment a¬†little bit, they’re always going to be high on the list if they ever offer because I’ve always liked UNC. They’re definitely always going to be high on the list either way.”

If the Tar Heels offer, they’ll join¬†Vanderbilt, Alabama, Memphis, N.C. State, Florida, Louisville and Tennessee as the schools who have officially extended an offer. Lindsey has also received interest from Kentucky, Georgetown, Ohio State, West Virginia, Xavier, Florida State, Virginia, Miami, UCLA and Marquette, among others.

The 6’6, 180-pound wing has a good idea of what he’s looking for in a school, too.

“Academics, if I relate with the coaches, how they treat their players, their facilities and small stuff like that is important to me,” Lindsey said. “I definitely want a fast-paced system. A system where the team plays together and the coach lets you play your game while you’re playing within the program.”

Photograph courtesy of Jalen Lindsey.

The Tennessee native says he thinks Kentucky and Syracuse fit that description best, which is part of the reason he wants to visit the Wildcats.

“I’m really trying to get down to Florida, Kentucky, Tennessee and some other schools around here [in Tennessee] but mostly out-of-state [schools],” Lindsey said. “They’re pushing me to come down there and see their facilities so I definitely want to check it out because they’re a really big school so why would I not? As for Kentucky, I’ve always wanted to visit them since I’ve heard it’s great up there and I like Tennessee’s campus since I’ve been up there before so I just want to go again.”

In addition to already visiting the Volunteers, he’s also already taken a trip to Alabama and Vanderbilt, too.

Since he’s still early in the recruiting process and has only visited a few schools, Lindsey is still a long way away from committing. “I don’t have a timetable right now; it’s early in the process,” Lindsey said. “I’m not really thinking about it right now, I’m going to wait until junior year to really start thinking about college.”


Leave a Reply

