1 Comment

Five programs standing out to 2013 Josh Hart

Photo Credit: MaxPreps.

Class of 2013 shooting guard Josh Hart hasn’t attracted the same attention from the media as some of his Team Takeover (DC) teammates have including class of 2013 standouts small forward Ishmail Wainright and center BeeJay Anya, but he has garnered much attention from college coaches.

The Washington, D.C. native has drawn recent interest from Florida, Missouri, Nebraska, Pittsburgh and Virginia Tech and has several high-major offers already on the table. All of the schools that he’s considering the strongest have offered him scholarships.

“Right now, [I’m looking mostly at] the ones who are recruiting me the hardest,” Hart told NRS, “which are Georgetown, Villanova, Penn State, Xavier, Marquette, N.C. State and San Diego State.” The 6’5, 200-pound guard also identified who’s standing out to him among those seven schools.

“I’d say Georgetown, Marquette, North Carolina State, San Diego State and Xavier,” Hart said. “They’re all great schools and have great academics. They have great coaches and great players off the court and great in the community.”

And that’s exactly he’s looking for in a school.

“Style of play is definitely important to me. I want to play up-tempo and a kind of style that involves your guards and play-makers in the open court,” Hart said. “Also a school that has good academics, a great community that supports the basketball team and gives every game great support and a great atmosphere, a school that recruits great guys on and off the court and a great coaching staff that I can build a relationship with.”

Photograph courtesy of Josh Hart.

He’s also able to specify a couple of coaching staffs who are standing out to him since that’s one thing in his recruitment that’s important to him.

“My favorite coaching staff is between Georgetown and North Carolina State,” Hart said. “They’ve been really supportive of me and just up front about everything, that’s why those coaching staffs stick out from the rest of them.”

The Sidwell Friends School attendee has already visited both of those schools twice (in addition to George Mason, Towson and VCU once) and met one of the Hoya’s commits at one of his trips to Georgetown’s campus.

“I’ve talked to [class of 2012 point guard] D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera a little bit about Georgetown,” Hart said. “We’ve just talked about style of play and the community. We met at Midnight Madness.”

Georgetown has an additional advantage since Hart grew up a Hoya fan. “I used to watch Maryland when I was a little kid but then my Dad was always watching Georgetown so I started rooting for them,” Hart said. “They were my number one school.

“It definitely has an impact [on my recruitment]. Georgetown is a team that I was really a fan of and for them to reach out to me and really want me to go to their school, it feels great and I definitely take that into consideration.”

Photograph courtesy of Josh Hart.

Since he’s already visited Georgetown twice and taken a closer look at four other schools, Hart is looking to visit some new schools to get a better feel for other programs that he’s considering.

“I want to visit Florida, Villanova, San Diego State and Marquette,” Hart said. “I’ve been in contact with those schools and I’m building a relationship with those coaches and I just want to see student life at those programs. Location has a little bit to do with that too.”

Although he doesn’t know exactly when he’s going to visit those schools, he does know when he wants to make a decision and commit to a school.

“In the fall,” Hart said. “Unless I feel a school is the right fit for me then I won’t hesitate to commit.”

One comment on “Five programs standing out to 2013 Josh Hart

Leave a Reply

