1 Comment

Johnson discusses CU, wants to face Shabazz

Thanks to class of 2012 shooting guard Xavier Johnson (Colorado) for doing the interview with us. The Mater Dei High School (California) attendee talked to us about his high school season, what he looks forward to doing when he gets to Colorado and much more. Be sure to join nearly 1,000 other people and follow Xavier on Twitter. Also make sure you check back next week when NRS unveils their final class of 2012 prospect rankings to see where Johnson and center Josh Scott stand.

Why did you commit to Colorado?

There are a lot of aspects about Colorado that I love. The thing I like the most is the atmosphere, everyone is very supportive and it’s a great place. They have a great coaching staff and they’re great people to be around.

Why did you commit at the time that you did?

I just felt like Colorado was the perfect school for me. After my visit, I just felt so comfortable there and I was ready to make my decision. I was relaxed there. I think I fit perfect into the style of play and I love [head] coach [Tad] Boyle, he’s a great person, and the rest of his coaching staff as well.

What was your favorite part of the recruiting process?

At the beginning, it was all of the schools looking at me. It made me feel happy about my game and what I had accomplished so far. Towards the end, it was a little bit of a hassle and kind of stressful but when you just pick that school and know where you’re going, it’s a great feeling.

What was your least favorite part of the recruiting process?

When you have to start narrowing down your list and doing research into the schools; that was probably the weak part of it.

What do you like about Colorado that isn’t basketball related?

The fans, they have a great fan section and everyone there is just so intrigued with basketball. I just love the atmosphere there and everyone is so supportive. Everything is great.

Have you talked to any of the other class of 2012 commits?

Yeah, I talk to them via Twitter. We tweet each other and talk to each other and we’ve had some conversations.

What do you think you guys will be able to do once you get to Colorado?

We’re trying to win a Pac-12 championship and advance in the NCAA Tournament as far as possible and string together as many wins as we can.

Photo Credit: MaxPreps/Louis Lopez.

Are you trying to recruit anyone to join you at Colorado?

Not really, I don’t try to go out and recruit anybody but anyone can come if they want to come if they got game.

Are you looking forward to playing with anyone in particular?

Definitely [sophomore forward] Andre [Roberson] and [freshman guards] Spencer Dinwiddie and Askia Booker. I told Askia and Spencer already that I’ll be ready for some lobs to get the crowd hyped so I’m really excited.

Are you looking forward to playing against anyone in particular?

Oh, definitely, [class of 2012 small forward] Shabazz Muhammad (Arizona), that’s my focus, I want to beat him. He doesn’t really play my position so it will be hard for me to actually guard him but I look forward to going up against him.

What’s been the coolest part of the recruiting process for you?

Just knowing that all of those coaches have trust in me and want me to go to their schools. Not a lot of kids can say that they have all these coaches come to their practices and be intrigued with them.

Why do you play the game of basketball?

I just really like it. ┬áIt’s just fun and I love playing the game. It’s also a great way to meet people.

Are there any specific academic programs you’re considering studying at Colorado?

No major yet, but I’m definitely interested in science. I don’t know what kind of science but I definitely want to do something in science.

What’s your favorite basketball memory?

Winning back-to-back state championships, that was a great feeling. This year was a good year for us, we won a lot of games. We didn’t lose any games in California or in the West Coast so I feel like we’re the best in the west and we accomplished a lot. Our only two losses were overtime games so I feel like we did what we could.

How does playing at a great school like Mater Dei help your game?

It’s really good because the defense can’t double one player since we have so many threats on offense. We can spread the floor and tear it up.

What’s one thing that people probably don’t know about you?

I’m a goofy kid and I like to laugh a lot and make jokes. I never take normal pictures, I always do something goofy.

What are you looking to improve on before you get to Colorado?

I want to put on some more weight and get a little bulkier so I can play with the big boys. I want to work on my ball-handling and become an even better three-point shooter.

One comment on “Johnson discusses CU, wants to face Shabazz

Leave a Reply

