5 Comments

Zach LaVine has several standouts, UCLA ties

Class of 2013 point guard Zach LaVine doesn’t even have a list together yet, however, he does have some schools that stand out to him and a timetable for when he wants to commit.

“I don’t have a list but some schools that stick out are Louisville, UCLA, Arizona, Washington, Gonzaga, Colorado and Oregon State,” LaVine told NRS. “I’m laying my options out and I feel like I can make a decision towards the end of the summer or early next year.”

The 6’3, 150-pound floor general is mostly getting west coast attention but a few schools from the east coast have been in contact too. He also has a good idea of what he’s looking for in his potential program.

“I’m looking for the right fit,” the Washington native said. “I’m looking for a school with the right style of offense and a team that can compete in the Final Four and Sweet Sixteen… a team that can win the National Championship. My goal in my life is to get to the NBA, that’s my dream, so whatever [school] can put me there too.”

He also knows what type of playing system he wants to be in, although he’s pretty flexible on that.

“It would be good for a team to run a wide open offense, one that shoots a lot of threes and gets up and down the court,” LaVine said. “It’s really up to the coach, I haven’t thought about it a lot.”

LaVine has already taken a few visits, including trips to UCLA, Washington, Gonzaga and Oregon State, and wants to take a closer look at Louisville and Baylor.

“Louisville and Baylor are a couple of the top schools in the country,” LaVine said. “Louisville advanced to the Final Four and they’re a great school and Baylor is another great contender and could help me get to the NBA. It would also be nice to go out to Texas.”

In addition to factors like the prestige of the program and success of the school, LaVine is also being influenced by his friends and family. LaVine says he’s close with a couple of Washington players who declared for the 2012 NBA Draft, Tony Wroten, Jr. and Terrence Ross, and that a lot of members in his immediate family are UCLA fans. He’s also close friends with class of 2012 shooting guard Mark McLaughlin, who recently committed to the Huskies.

“I hear from [Tony and Terrence] all the time about how great Washington is,” LaVine said. “[And] I kind of have an influence towards UCLA because my dad is from California and he always represents them with UCLA gear; so does my uncle. I guess I just have a little bit of a knack towards them too.

“It does affect my recruitment a little bit [since] all my family is from California so they all like UCLA. But my dad said my decision was up to me and I could go wherever I wanted to go. I just have to make a careful decision and be ready to work.”

The Bruins and Huskies stand out to LaVine in another way too. He says those two schools are the ones recruiting him the hardest.

“It’s between Washington and UCLA, they’re definitely on me the hardest,” LaVine added.

Although he’s being chased after some of the top programs in the country, he still continues to put a lot of work in to improve his game. One of the biggest thing he’s working on is his size.

“I’m trying to improve on my strength and getting a little bigger,” LaVine said. “I’m about 6’3 ½ but I’m not really hitting the weights as hard as I should be. I want to get my upper body stronger and become more of a true point guard instead of a scoring point guard.”

5 comments on “Zach LaVine has several standouts, UCLA ties

  1. […] to class of 2013 point guard Zach LaVine for doing the interview with us. We recently did a recruiting update on the Washington native but here’s a look at our full conversation with him. He talked to us […]

  2. […] he does have some schools that stand out to him and a timetable for when he wants to commit. LaVine lists Louisville, UCLA, Arizona, Washington, Gonzaga, Colorado and Oregon State as the schools that stand out to him and says he wants to make a decision at the end of the summer […]

  3. […] in the mix for him. LaVine also told National Recruiting Spotlight earlier last month that he has several family ties to UCLA and that both his dad and his uncle are Bruin fans. He currently has no timetable for when he wants […]

  4. […] in the mix for him. LaVine also told National Recruiting Spotlight earlier last month that he has several family ties to UCLA and that both his dad and his uncle are Bruin fans. He currently has no timetable for when he wants […]

  5. […] no surprise that the Bruins top his list since he has told NRS in the past that he has family ties to them. “I kind of have an influence towards UCLA because my dad is from California and he always […]

Leave a Reply

