4 Comments

Brannen Greene drawing attention from top schools

Class of 2013 shooting guard Brannen Greene is from a small town in Georgia with less than 15,000 people in it, but he still has the top colleges in the country chasing after him.

“I’ve received interest from Duke, Georgia Tech, Alabama, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisville, FSU, Florida, Tennessee, Indiana, Marquette, UConn, N.C. State and Georgia,” Greene says. Among those schools, he names Florida, Memphis, Duke, Alabama and Florida State as the schools recruiting him the hardest.

Greene named all these schools as universities that contacted him the first day coaches could call recruits as well. He also named Stanford, Oklahoma State, Virginia Tech, Harvard, Depaul, Seton Hall, Providence, Virginia, Boston College, Ole Miss, Cincinnati, Wake Forest, Arkansas and Auburn.

Despite all these phone calls, there was one conversation Greene had that stood out. “Usually, when you look at [Duke head] coach [Mike] Krzyzewski, you see him as a person who is always serious and concentrated,” says Greene. “But he was a real funny guy, he showed a little bit of his personality, that’s the conversation that really stuck out.”

The Blue Devils look to be a school that Greene is very interested in since he may take another visit to Durham. Other than Duke, he has visited Alabama, Georgia Tech, Florida State and South Carolina and like the Blue Devils, he may visit Alabama and Florida State again as well.

“There’s a possibility I’ll visit Alabama, Duke and Florida State again but I haven’t decided yet,” says Greene. “I have a scheduled visit to Louisville on August 3rd [but] that’s all I have right now. I’ll probably take more visits in August, September and October.”

Although he says he enjoyed all the visits equally, he discussed two visits in particular. “I enjoyed all of them because when I went to Alabama, I went to a football game when they were playing Florida, so all the students were there and it was loud,” says Greene. “When I went to Duke I just enjoyed what the Duke players go through when kids aren’t on campus, I also like their tradition.”

Duke, Alabama and Florida State popped up again during our interview with Greene when he listed his favorite coaching staffs. “I really like Memphis’ coaching staff, Florida State’s, I really like Alabama’s, Duke’s, Ohio State’s, Florida’s and UConn’s,” says Greene. “Those are the ones that stick out. They’re all so energetic and seem like player’s coaches.”

Greene also has a good idea of what he’s looking for in a school. “I want a school that’s big on academics and has a great tradition,” Greene says. He has a school in mind that he thinks fits that description, too. “I like Harvard to be honest, I like schools that are really big on academics,” Greene says. “That doesn’t mean that schools without great academics don’t have a chance, but I do factor in academics.”

When asked if it’s a real possibility that he will attend a mid-major like Harvard instead of a more prestigious school like a Duke or Kentucky, he replied with an enthusiastic yes. Says Greene, “It’s real possible, it just all depends on what I’m feeling and what they’re offering.”

This Georgia Tech trio is recruiting class of 2013 star Brannen Greene.

Another thing that factors into Greene’s decision is what the college players who are recruiting him are telling him. “I talk with [former Georgia Tech guards] Iman Shumpert and Lance Storrs,” says Greene. “I actually worked out with Lance last week and he was trying to get me to go to Georgia Tech. I also talk to [junior Georgia Tech guard] Glenn Rice.

“What they say definitely matters because they’ve had their own personal experiences and they talk to me without the coaches or anyone else around about what really goes on and what campus life is like.”

Greene is also looking at the prospect of going to school with other high school stars. “I talk with [class of 2012 power forward] Tony Parker (#15) a lot, too,” says Greene. “He’s trying to convince me to go wherever he goes. When you go to college, you want to play with big-time players so there’s nothing wrong with having a big man down low taking some of the pressure of you.”

Although he says the two talk a lot, he doesn’t have any more information to divulge than Parker did in our recruiting update and interview earlier this week. “All I know is his top three is Duke, Memphis and Ohio State,” says Greene. “All three of those schools talk to me too and I have offers from Memphis and Ohio State and I talk to all those coaches all the time.”

With all of these recruiting pitches from players, coaches and alumnus, it’s important that Greene has some help in his recruitment. “My Dad has helped me the most in the recruiting process,” Greene says. “He’s my AAU coach so he can take calls. He’s the one who looks into the schools and the other players who schools are recruiting. He does all the behind the scenes works, I just talk to the coaching staffs and see what they have to say.”

And although he doesn’t have a list yet, he does have a timetable for the rest of his recruitment. Says Greene, “I’ll probably get together my list by the end of the calendar year and then commit soon after that.”


4 comments on “Brannen Greene drawing attention from top schools

  1. [...] Duke, Alabama and Florida State popped up again during our interview with Greene when he listed his favorite coaching staffs. ?I really like Memphis? coaching staff, Florida State?s, I really like Alabama?s, Duke?s, Ohio State?s, Florida?s and UConn?s,? says Greene. ?Those are the ones that stick out. They?re all so energetic and seem like player?s coaches.? http://recruitingspotlight.wordpress…m-top-schools/ [...]

  2. [...] Although he doesn’t have anything else planned, he did tell us a couple of weeks ago that he may be interested in visiting Duke and Florida State again. He also told us in the same interview that Florida, Memphis, Duke, Alabama and Florida State are [...]

  3. [...] is currently ranked #20th by ESPN with a 97/100 Scouts grade. He currently has a crapload of schools interested in him. Greene named all these schools as universities that contacted him the first day coaches could call [...]

  4. [...] Greene is also one of the top wings in the nation and showed high interest in Thad Matta and the Buckeyes: “I really like Memphis’ coaching staff, Florida State’s, I really like Alabama’s, [...]

Leave a Reply

