1 Comment

John Cannon commits to Georgia

After considering a scholarship offer from Northwestern and a prefered walk-on position at North Carolina, class of 2011 center John Cannon (Mountain Heritage High School) chose the Bulldogs, giving them their fifth commitment in addition to McDonald’s All-American shooting guard Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, power forward Nemanja Djurisic and centers Tim Dixon and John Florveus. “I feel like it’s a family environment,” says Cannon, “they have a great coach and I feel like I can step in and make a difference right way.”

Although Cannon seemed to really like Northwestern in our interview with him Thursday, he told us today that “It was really just the distance… Northwestern has a great group of guys and I got to know them better but Georgia is close and I can come home if I want to.” As for why he didn’t choose UNC despite being a life-long Tar Heel fan, it was all about how much, or how little, he thought they really wanted him. “I know Georgia really wanted me and North Carolina said they really wanted me,” says Cannon, “but they obviously didn’t want me that bad.”

Cannon also chose Georgia because of the good conference they play in. “Big time competition is important to me because it helps prepare you and it provides you really good practice for the next level,” says Cannon. “Going to the NBA has always been a dream of mine.” Despite not getting to know the Bulldog players very well, he is still very excited about his future with the team. Says Cannon, “I look forward to being apart of something special.”

One comment on “John Cannon commits to Georgia

  1. [...] added some depth in big man John Cannon, a 6′-10″ center from Mountain Heritage (NC). Cannon picked the Bulldogs over [...]

Leave a Reply

